RSS

Book Review: “Slammed” by Colleen Hoover

06 Jan

I would like to preface that I have never written a book review as a poem before. I decided to give it a try after being inspired by this novel. So please be kind. *Sigh* Here goes nothing. 🙂

A friend told me about a book she read.13372690

She told me that I should read it,
She told me that I would like it,
She told me that she loved it.

A friend told me about a book she read.
I was immediately hooked,
I read the story in my bed,
After quickly downloading it to my Nook.

The novel is pure poetry,
It’s about young love, literally,
Two people paving their way through life’s winding paths,
Each immensely attracted to the other half.

18-year-old Layken Cohen trades Texas for winter hell,
Losing her father six months ago, a new chapter begins,
She moves to Michigan with her mother and brother Kel,
Because mom supposedly got a new job offer.

Upon arrival, Lake meets a new neighbor,
Good-looking, 21-year-old Will Cooper,
His parents are six feet under,
His world revolves around his little brother, Caulder.

Lake and Will form an intense chemistry,
They attend a poetry slam on their first date,
Not your typical poetry, but it’s entertaining,
They share a lot in common, which is great.

Kel and Caulder become the best of friends,
Lake’s mom suddenly leaves for unexplained errands,
Lake becomes kindred spirits with a girl named Eddie,
Not her real name, but she’s not too shabby.

Lake and Will’s relationship is blocked from the start.
Truths and secrets appear from the dark,
They try hard to keep themselves apart,
Patience pries delicate strings from your heart.

At first, the story parallels Sylvain Reynard’s Gabriel series,
Only because of the nature of the characters, really.
Deeply not just an emotional love story,
It’s about surviving life’s unexpected intricacies.

Colleen Hoover did me proud, simple yet powerful,
I could not put the damn Nook down,
I laughed, I cried,
I love when characters come alive.

A friend told me about a book she read.
A book so emotional and so sweet,
Anxious to read what happens next,
Pardon me, but it’s time for Point of Retreat.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Book Review: “Slammed” by Colleen Hoover

  1. Thomas

    January 6, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    Wow, amazing book review! I’ve read reviews that incorporated lyrics to match the book, but never an actual poem – your review makes me want to read the book even more.

     
    • noseyrosie

      January 6, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      Thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed my review! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
