RSS

Book Review: “Mrs. Kennedy and Me: An Intimate Memoir”

19 Jun

“I want to live my life, not record it.” ~ Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis

I have to unleash a big secret. I adore Jackie Kennedy.

I love reading about her. In fact, I’ve probably read over 20 books about the former First Lady and each time I finish reading her biographies, I keep yearning for more. Metaphorically speaking, it’s like opening a box within a box and so forth until I find that golden ticket on the intimate accounts of her life.

I guess that’s why I’m nosey, but I give credit to Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis because she taught us to never be afraid to have a hunger for knowledge. Thanks to former Secret Service agent Clint Hill, I’ve found the golden ticket in his book “Mrs Kennedy and Me: An Intimate Memoir.”

Co-written by Lisa McCubbin, the book is a beautifully written account of Hill’s time as Mrs. Kennedy’s Secret Service agent and a wonderful tribute to Jackie. From the time when he first met her in Hyannisport in 1960 to when she moved out of the White House and began a new life chapter in 1964, Clint Hill was more than just Jackie’s protector. They shared a beautiful, fairy-tale friendship.

Jackie desperately craved for privacy after having been thrown in the international spotlight, thanks to her husband’s presidency. Hill understood her mantra. He allowed her to have as much privacy as possible when the paparazzi and her White House duties took her away from that.

His accounts of the weeks leading up to and after President Kennedy’s assassination and his interaction with Jackie are candid and heartbreaking. Hill was the agent who climbed on the back of the motorcade and urged Jackie to stay in her seat.

This is truly one of my favorite books about Jackie Kennedy because it’s honest, poignant, and refreshing. Page by page, it is evident that Hill’s purpose of writing the book was not to expose Jackie in a dim light but to honor her life and legacy that continues to brightly shine.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Book Review: “Mrs. Kennedy and Me: An Intimate Memoir”

  1. swtor credits

    June 27, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    You have remarked very interesting points! ps decent internet site.

     
  2. Audie Michalenko

    July 1, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

     
    • noseyrosie

      July 2, 2012 at 2:40 am

      Thank you very much! I am glad you enjoy it. I’ll definitely be posting some more this week!

       

Leave a Reply

 
